Soothing DIY Scalp & Hair Treatment

Hello Lay-days and Gents, today I thought I’d cook you up a DIY beauty treatment with some kitchen stuff (see what I did there?) and some skin care oils. I’ve been using this DIY Hair Mask and Scalp Treatment a few times per week and every time I use it I get compliments on how shiny and soft my hair looks. But not only does this DIY make my hair look good, but it soothes my dry scalp and strands. Here’s what you’ll need

  • Unrefined and Cold-Pressed Coconut Oil
  • Raw Honey (does not have to be Manuka honey)
  • Aloe Vera Gel
  • Jojoba Oil
  • bowl and spoon
  • a container to put it in

First, you’ll need to scoop three heaping tablespoons of coconut oil into the bowl. It’s better when the coconut oil is in it’s solid state, because when you mix in the other ingredients it will give the treatment a nice whipped texture.

Processed with Moldiv

Then, add two tablespoons of the Raw Honey. This doesn’t have to be a precise measurement, but just make sure there’s less honey than coconut oil.

Next, I squeeze out enough aloe vera gel to fill the tablespoon and drop it in the bowl. I really love this brand of Aloe Gel because it’s not just water and alcohol like most “aloe vera gels” that you can buy in stores, and it doesn’t have a lot of additives. I also use it as a brow gel. It’s beautifully conditioning for the hair and provides soothing relief for itchy or dry scalp.

Finally, I like to add four or five drops of jojoba oil. Be sure not to over-do it on the jojoba oil or I find it leaves my hair looking greasy. Mix all the ingredients together and BOOMSHOCKA, you’re done and can put it into the container. Because all of these ingredients are shelf-stable, you do not have to throw the rest away and can keep the treatment in your bathroom.

Processed with Moldiv

Application:

So, to apply this, I section off my hair and focus the treatment on my scalp, dragging the product down the hair shaft towards the ends. I do this all over my head, and then run a bit through the ends when I’m finished with the scalp.

I put my hair in a topknot and leave it for 20-30 minutes. Then, in the shower, I let the warm water runs over my hair to warm up the oils and distribute it further. After a few minutes in the warmth of the shower, I shampoo my hair twice using a gentle cleansing shampoo, like the “The Naked Bee” Gentle Cleansing Shampoo and Conditioner (which is really just a shampoo) and I DO NOT use conditioner because the mask was nourishing enough. After the shower, I style my hair with my normal products. I do this about two or 3 times per week.

Processed with Moldiv

That’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post and try out the mask/treatment, and let me know how you like it if you decide to try it out. What are your favorite hair masks and scalp treatments? I love to know so please link them in a comment below. Don’t forget to like, follow, and comment!

Happy reading, Beautiful!

—Grace

 

 

One thought on “Soothing DIY Scalp & Hair Treatment

Leave a Reply

