How to Wear This Summer’s Lip Trends!

Processed with Moldiv

The 90’s- Inspired Kylie Jenner Lip

 kyliejenner-on-Instagram-830x563

The Trend: I didn’t think I ‘d give into this lip trend, but when I saw Kassie from Cloudy Apples do a video about how to get fuller lips, well, I caved. Kylie Jenner has put the 90’s inspired browny nude lip on the map this summer. I know that she lines just above her natural lip line to make them look fuller, and if you want to do that, by all means carpe diem. Now, I don’t really bother with lining my lips, but the rosy browny 90’s nude color has been right up my alley lately. Here’s how I would wear it for everyday, as someone who doesn’t like to look overly made-up.

 

What to wear it with: Bronzed Skin. I think this look is great with nice, bronzed up skin. Not contour, but an all over bronze and a lot of lash going on.

 

Products I suggest: The first option and my favorite is the Bite Beauty Lipstick in Pepper. I just pat the color on from the bullet for a more subtle look. However, this color can be really bold. The second and more affordable option is the Silk Naturals Vegan Lipstick in Rapturous. This lip color is more pink and glossy, but it hits the nail on the head for this trend.

This is how I did it…

Processed with Moldiv

 

The Hot Pink Lip

hotpink lip

The Trend: I’ve seen this in countless numbers of magazines lately. The super bright, semi-glossy, “Barbie threw up on me” pink is definitely not for the feint of heart. However, even a shy girl like me can pull off this trend.

 

What to Wear it with: No-makeup makeup. The easiest way to look like you tried, but not really with bold lip colors is to keep everything else simple. Concealer, powder, mascara, and done. However, if you feel the color is washing you out, a hint of blush helps.

 

Products I suggest: First, I put a little concealer on my lips, because my lips are naturally a darker tone. Then, I use the Bite Beauty Lip Pencil in the color Tart. This is definitely more of a coral-y pink, so I top it off with the RMS Lip Shine in Sublime. This creates a pretty glossy lip. If glossy isn’t your thing, just take a tissue and blot it down for a more subtle, matte look.

This is how I did it…

Processed with Moldiv

 

The Orange Lip

orange-lipstick-zooey-deschanel

The Trend: The whole tomato-hued lippie has been busting its way on to the scene. Celebrities, like eh-hem Zooey Deschanel have been rocking it on the red carpet and it’s quite a old color to pull off. But, it’s also an appropriate and playful look for the summer months. I for one, thought I could never pull off orange lips, and I didn’t want to if I’m being honest. I just didn’t think it suited my skin tone very well. But I found a gem of a product that proves anyone can rock an orange lip.

 

What to wear it with: Winged Liner. This trend looks really pin-up and mod when paired with some winged liner. I’m not talking full-on drama, but a little bit of an Alexa Chung style flick with no eyeshadow is a great compliment to your orangey red pout.

 

Product I Suggest: I love, LOVE the Ilia lipstick in Perfect Day. I believe the color is limited edition, so go grab it if you can, but it’s seriously the most freaking gorgeous orange-red rusty tone with a little pink that I’ve ever laid eyes on. And, the quality of Ilia lipsticks is unprecedented in my book; they feel beautiful and they last pretty darn long.

This is how I did it…and I swear it really does look wayyy more orange in person :/

Processed with Moldiv

One thought on “How to Wear This Summer’s Lip Trends!

Leave a Reply

