Mullein and Sparrow

photo 4 (12)

Hello Friends!

I hope your June is going well, mine is surely flying by. A few weeks a go I was sent some Mullein & Sparrow products to review and I have been testing them thoroughly so I can review them honestly now for you!

Mullein & Sparrow was founded in Brooklyn as the life work of herbalist and holistic esthetician Anit Hora. Not only is she great at what she does, she is also a doll. Her line is 100% natural and is a fully plant-based apothecary line.

Enough jibber-jabber. Let’s get to these products.

Facial Serum ($48)

photo 2 (13)

Of the four products I received, this serum was my most favorite. First of all, the packaging of all these products is fantastic, but I especially love this dainty little glass serum bottle. The serum smells fantastic – it’s really fresh, but herbal and calming at the same time. The consistency is watery and a little runny, but being a collection of oils this doesn’t surprise me. I really love the way this product feels on my skin. It’s very nourishing, but light at the same time. This is definitely lighter than the facial serum I currently use (which you can read about here) and it has been a nice change for while the product has lasted. This size (which is significantly smaller than the full-size serum of .5 fl oz) lasted me longer than I expected – about two weeks and I was using this graciously morning and night. The serum absorbed into the skin quickly, sat very well beneath my makeup, and made my skin look radiant while toning down my redness. This was a lovely product and I will definitely consider purchasing this once my current facial serum drops its last drop. If you are looking for a serum then this is a wonderfully natural product that I highly recommend.

Ingredients: Squalene (olive), Rosa rubiginosa (rosehip seed) oil*, Persea americana (avocado) oil*, vitamin E, essential oils of:Boswellia carterii (frankincense)*, Santalum spicatum(sandalwood)*, Daucus carota (carrot seed)*, Helichrysum italicum spp. serotinum (immortelle)*, Pelargonium graveolens (rose geranium)*, Rosa damascena (rose)*,Commiphora myrrha (myrhh)*, Pogostemon cablin(patchouli)*, Cananga odorata (ylang ylang)*                             *Organic

Facial Steam ($14)

photo 5

photo 4

photo 3 (11)

I know I said the serum was my favorite product, but this steam comes in as a very close second. This was such a treat! I was a little taken aback at first – I couldn’t fathom holding my face scarily close to a bowl of very hot water enjoyable or relaxing. Weirdly enough though, it was. You just take a handful of herbs/flowers from the bag and let it steep in boiling water for some time in a bowl (the wider the rim the better), then you relax with your face above the water (with the steam moving up into your face), and a towel over your head. As odd as it sounds – it’s very spa like and made my skin feel so healthy. Not to mention, when the water hits the dried product the most beautiful thing happens. The flowers open and bloom right in front of your eyes beneath the surface of the water. It’s like a steamed tea for your face.  I loved it and will be purchasing this product immediately. The full size is quite a lot bigger than my sample – so it will definitely be worth the while. I also imagine using this in a bath would be lovely – just throwing some flowers and herbs into the warm water for some extra skin benefits while you bask and read the latest edition of Vogue. Mmmm. Yummy.

Ingredients: Lavandula angustifolia (lavender)*, Matricaria chamomilla(chamomile)*, Rosa centifolia (rose)*, Calendula officinalis(calendula)*, Symphytum officinale (comfrey)*, Glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice root)*, Foeniculum vulgare (fennel)*,Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary)*, Urtica dioica (nettle)*,Stellaria media (chickweed)*             *Organic

photo 1 (15)
photo (15)
I was the most excited to try out this product. I love me some lip balm. The packaging is too cute, but I hate that I’m constantly stuck sticking my finger into product, applying it all over my face, and then having to wipe my lip balm covered finger off somewhere. It just doesn’t seem very clean – does anyone else have this issue? The product itself smells very herbally – I can’t exactly pinpoint what it is, but it smells very strongly of something. Im not entirely sure what alkanet root, carnuaba wax, or candeulla wax smell like, but those are the only ingredients that I don’t know the smell of. Maybe that mixed with the patchouli essence? I don’t know. It smells good though! But different… The consistency is very thin on your lips and almost a little oily, but not greasy, it’s more nourishing than that. This product is also supposed to double a cheek tint as well as a lip tint, but I don’t think the pigment is prominent enough to really be a cheek product. Maybe if you decided not to wear makeup and just apply this to your cheeks and lips, then it would work, but it didn’t really add much color when I was wearing it over foundation. The color isn’t super concentrated, but it adds the slightest pop of rose color to your lips. It’s nice, but very subtle. When you purchase this from Mullein & Sparrow, for $20 you receive two lip balms – the one I received (tinted lip balm) and another one which I did not receive (healing salve). I will not be repurchasing this product because (1) I am very fickle with lip products because I want to try them all and (2) the color pay off wasn’t enough for my liking although I really love the ingredients in this product and would recommend it.
Ingredients: Sunflower Oil*, Extra Virgin Olive Oil*, Cocoa Butter*, Alkanet Root*, Carnauba Wax*, Shea Butter*, Candeulla Wax*, Essential Oils of Patchouli* & Orange*                                  *Organic
photo 3 (10)
photo 2 (14)
I really tried to like this product. Really. I did. But, I just hate the feel of my dirty hair. I can’t stand going a day without washing it, my roots just get so damn greasy! So, I did try this out a few times and it worked to the rid of the appearance of my oily disgusting-ness, but I just can’t deal with my greasy hair. I tried this maybe four times on my second day hair and it was interesting. I’ve gotten so used to dry shampoo’s coming in an aerosol cans, that applying a dry shampoo by shaking it out of this tiny mechanism was a bit foreign to me. It took awhile to perfect the application and avoid getting it all over my face, but I got there!  It does smells lovely – like cocoa. If you want a completely natural dry shampoo, look Mullein & Sparrow’s way, but this product was not for me.
Ingredients: Theobroma cacao (cocoa) powder*, kaolinite (kaolin) clay, Zea mays (cornstarch)    *Organic
Have you tried any of Mullein and Sparrow’s products before? What did you think of them? And is the thought of a facial steam foreign to anyone else besides me?
Happy Reading, Gorgeous!
— Clair

 

6 thoughts on “Mullein and Sparrow

Leave a Reply

