BareMinerals BareSkin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation Review & Application

photo 1 (12)

As of late I have noticed that my NARS Sheer Glow foundation has been running a little low – so it was time to take a little rampage into Sephora.

photo 4 (9)

Upon arriving though, the new bareMinerals foundation bottles captured my attention.

captures

 There are SO many shades and it’s much cheaper than the NARS foundation that I normally use… So, I picked up the shade Bare Linen (03) after fumbling around with the bottles and the vast color choices for far too long. Turns out this shade was a bit too light for me (it contains a substantial amount of pink undertones) – which caused me to march back into Sephora and exchange it for Bare Cream (05). This I found strange – you would think the right shade would be just one tone/number up, but no, 04 was much darker than 05 – but whatever.

photo 2 (10)

As the packaging says, you have to shake this product well before use – this is because the foundation is much more natural than your average foundation and contains no binding agent that keeps the product all one texture. Therefore, you must shake it up before use. Shake it real good.

photo 2 (6)

Anyways, I really like this foundation! It uses coconut water as it’s base and is so lightweight and lovely on the skin, while still giving you decent coverage. (You are about to see my naked face – fair warning)

photo 1 (8)

 (naked face – AH!)

The consistency of this foundation is quite strange – the box tells you to use three drops and blend, and then to build with one or two more drops to get a heavier coverage. What? Drops? Like, pipette drops – are you serious? There was no way this was going to cover my entire face…

photo 1 (11)

(foundation smudged all about)

Welp! To my surprise – it did cover my entire face! It did so quite beautifully as well. It’s very watery, but applies so nicely on the skin. It looks like skin – not like cakey makeup (ya know?). And so little goes a long way, I don’t think this foundation will run out possibly ever. The coverage is light to medium (I used 4 drops), but it is buildable. So, if you use more drops then your coverage will be much heavier than what I have below.

photo 2 (9)

(foundation blended out using the Real Techniques buffing brush)

I deeply appreciate that this foundation is supposed to be good for your skin – it advertises itself as more of a skin care item than a makeup item. It says it should correct one’s skin tone, and deliver, “a more noticeably brighter, youthful appearance.” Considering I am 19 years old, I can’t say my skin’s appearance is noticeably younger, but I will say that using this foundation has made my complexion more radiant and glowy, which I can appreciate. This product also contains an SPF of 20 which is lovely because (1) I have the hardest time getting foundation to sit nicely on top of a facial sunscreen and (2) this is just enough SPF to keep me safe from the fleeting moments of which I am outside.

I will say that your skin needs to be in a supremely moisturized state to get the best application and finish using this product. I have very weird combination skin where I get dry patches between my eyebrows, around my mouth, and around the perimeter of my face, while the rest of my skin is normal/a little oily. If my skin was feeling a bit dehydrated (and bitchy) then this product definitely clung to my dry patches and was a pain in the ass, but if you moisturize generously and your skin is fairly hydrated then application should be a breeze.

I found that this product works very well at concealing redness, but wasn’t the best at concealing blemishes. While this is a con I can deal with (because this problem is what concealer is for, right?), it is still slightly disappointing that this is not a miracle product where every aspect of your face looks flawless after application – I am still searching (let me know if you have found one although it probably doesn’t exist).

The last complaint (semi-complaint) that I have about this product is the finish. It is VERY dewy. Like, not only did you just have sex dewy, but you had a sex marathon dewy. This foundation definitely needs a setting or a mattifying powder to finish. While it does not slide around my face without a setting powder, the finish is a little shiny so I use one anyways.

photo 3 (6)

(my finished face)

Now that I have told you all the downsides of this foundation, I can rave about it and tell you that I love this foundation despite the minor annoyances above! The formulation is awesome. It only contains 20 ingredients, while most foundation contain over 40! I love that this foundation is coconut water based and also contains jojoba esters (hydrogenated jojoba oil), vitamin e, and lilac leaf cell culture extract (which is anti-acne, anti-inflammatory, and is an anti-oxidant). It’s also formulated without water, oil, silicone, parabens, and fragrance. I love this because I don’t feel guilty wearing it.

The foundations staying power is also impressive – which says a lot because I don’t use a primer. I find that even when I apply it at 8am and remove it at 8pm that night, the foundation is still on and in place on my skin. I haven’t found that the formulation oxidizes or simply disappears, although I will admit that 12 hours later, it does not look like you have just applied it (which it shouldn’t).

photo 4 (8)

 (after a few hours later, still looking good)

This product makes my skin looks so radiant and healthy. It’s a good nights sleep in a bottle. I really do love it. More than the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation? It’s hard to say..

While NARS does a better job at concealing my blemishes, the formula of the bareMinerals foundation is so much more natural and healthy. Both foundations tend to cling to my dry patches when my skin is acting up, and while both foundations are dewy the bareMinerals foundation definitely has a dewier finish than the NARS foundation. Saying that though, the bareMinerals foundation is only $29 where NARS retails for $45. They are pretty balanced. It is impossible for me to name a winner.

For now though, the bareMinerals foundation will be my new go to foundation! I really love it and I would recommend it to anyone – even you oily-skinned folks, just use a primer first. It’s a great value for the price and works wonders. Don’t buy the foundation brush though – it’s so gimmicky. I like to use my Real Techniques buffing brush – it’s amazing and if you don’t own it, you should. Leave the computer, get in your car, and go buy it, stat – it’s just that good.

Anyways! I hope I have given you some useful information regarding this product! Have you tried it? What were your thoughts? If you haven’t used it, what foundation do you use now? I always love hearing your recommendations!

And as usual,

Happy Reading, Gorgeous!

— Clair

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “BareMinerals BareSkin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation Review & Application

  1. Thanks for this review super detailed I actually really like the sound of this foundation this move by Bare Minerals surprised me a little as a few years ago they were so anti pressed powder then they released one….then they were anti liquid foundation but they released one haha. The finish looks gorgeous on you 😀 I’m attached to sheer glow but defo going to give this a try when it hits UK waters 🙂 xx

    http://rinicawrites.blogspot.co.uk/

    Like

    • I never expected bareMinerals to come out with a liquid foundation either! But, it’s nice to see they are keeping up with the times. I’m still pretty committed to sheer glow as well, but I’m telling you, this foundation is so nice and healthy on the skin. It’s better for your skin and wears so beautifully. Definitely give this a try! I’d love to see your review on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

