Detox Day and “Breakfast Mask”

 

Is there anything worse than waking up to find that your skin is angry with you? Well, yes, of course there’s world hunger and the IRS, but on a small scale it can put a damper on the day. I don’t know what to attribute my skin’s most recent freak-out to;  my pillow case, sun exposure, or stress, but I decided to handle it with a detox day.

 

First, I like to spend a good hour at the gym. Doing some cardio andisolated musle excersizes really gets my blood flowing, and a little sweat never hurt anyone. Also, never ever wear makeup to the gym. It definitely will clog your pores. I’ve seen girls on the elliptical with a full on smoky eye, and I feel like bitches best be trippin’ because ain’t nobody got time for that. (I just had to add it in) Also, just a tip, don’t touch your face because of all the germs on the gym equipment. I have inserted a small clip of me at the gym below. (haha, not really)

 gym

Then, I like to go home and take a shower. I wash my face in the shower with a gentle cleanser like the Juice Beauty Blemish Clearing Cleanser and when I get out I put on a pretty simple DIY mask that I like to call “The Breakfast Mask” because all of the ingredients, with the exception of the aloe gel, could be used to make a hearty bowl of oatmeal.

 

The Breakfast Mask

 You’ll need:

1.5 cups of oatmeal (blend this first before adding other ingredients)

1 banana (mash with fork before popping it in the blender)

a handful of blueberries

2 tablespoons of honey (I opted for manuka honey, but raw honey works too)

aloe vera gel (until you get the texture you want your mask to be)

 

Put all of the ingredients in the blender and pulverize that mixture!

Processed with Moldiv

 

This mask is super lumpy and gloopy but the oatmeal and aloe soothe redness really well, the banana moisturizes and blueberries give an antioxidant boost. I like to just plop the blobs on my face like stickers and leave until it dries. I will repeat the process throughout detox day. This is a great mask for people like me who are unashamed of looking like an oatmeal cookie monster, and anyone suffering from redness and angry face trolls (otherwise known as zits).

 

As another addition to detox day, I eat lots of berries like a woodland creature because of all the good antioxidants in them and drink some  herbal tea. The one I drink is lemon flavored and says that it will clean your liver, and that can’t be a bad thing. I’m sure my liver needs a good hoovering, so why not?

 

To relax like a middle school girl at a pajama party, I read my favorite magazines (The New Yorker, Glamour, Allure, ect.) and paint my nails. I used Zoya’s “Sailor” nail varnish today which is a gorgeous navy blue shade. I know it’s not a summer bright, but I enjoy dark, slightly evil-looking nails; they make me feel like a bad ass. I have two Zoya colors and I believe that they are of the “5 free” variety which means that they don’t contain dibutyl phthalate, toluene, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, or camphor. Either way, they have a really glossy formula that is pretty opaque with one coat, but perfection if you have the patience the paint a second coat. They get a big thumbs up from me, anyways.

Processed with Moldiv

 

***Just a tip for manis, if you run your nails under cold water between coats, it helps to set the polish. I cannot remember where I learned this trick but it’s a really good one.***

 

And that is my detox day in a nutshell. I hope you enjoyed this post.What are some of the things you do to relax and calm your skin and mind? Don’t forget to like, comment, and subscribe.

 

Happy Reading, Beautiful!

—Grace

3 thoughts on “Detox Day and “Breakfast Mask”

    • I’ve been trying to use it more, but I haven’t seen a huge difference between the Manuka Honey and the Really Raw Honey, except of course the price difference. I’d say if you use honey consistently as like a cleanser, maybe it would be a nice treat to try it. It worked amazingly in this mask though.
      —Grace

      Like

    • I love Manuka honey! It’s incredible – if you research it a bit it’s a special type of honey from New Zealand that’s antibacterial and ultra nourishing for the skin. It’s awesome whether you want to use it alone as a mask, a component within a mask, or a cleanser – although I’ve also heard of using it as a spot treatment for blemishes which is super cool. The only downside to it is that it is relatively expensive, especially for honey (despite how special it is)- but, I highly recommend it! A great alternative to this is raw honey though, which is a lot cheaper.

      Like

Leave a Reply

