It’s All In The Eyes

photo 2 (2)

Hello babes!

Here I am rummaging through my makeup bag (what else is new) when I got this thought… I like eye-makeup. A lot. Every other girl in the world likes eye-makeup. A lot.

So, why not show you MY collection? Therefore, here we are with this post! Let’s get started.

The Primer

Too Faced’s Shadow Insurance Anti-Crease Eye Shadow Primer ($20)

photo 1 (6)

photo 2 (5)

First, we must start with primer. I dont know what it is about my eyes, but my eye shadow is constantly creasing! So this product is an absolute must for me. This is the only eye shadow primer I have tried, but I really enjoy it and it gets the job done! It doesn’t smell or irritate my eyes, but most most importantly, my eye makeup stays in its place with this baby. It does not matter how long it’s been, whether its 3 hours or 10 – your eye shadows/liners will stay put. You only need to use the tiniest amount as well, so the tube of product lasts a long while and is well worth the money put into it. It’s also made without the use of parabens, so yay for that. I highly recommend!

The Palettes

Urban Decay’s Naked 2 Palette ($54)

photo 1 (2)

photo 2

Funny story, I received this as a gift without even knowing what a Naked palette was! I know, silly me. But, I am so glad I have it! It’s beautiful, contains every neutral color in the rainbow, and is buttery/long-lasting as f***. As you can see with this palette (and the rest of the palettes following) it is seriously well-loved. I use and love every shade. You know the drill with this one – it’s amazing. ‘Nuff said.

Revlon’s Custom Eyes Palette in 020 Naturally Glamorous ($8.99)

photo 4 (4)

photo 3 (2)

I’m pretty sure I saw Estee from Essie Button first talk about this – which caused me to keep my eyes peeled every time I went into a drugstore. Finally, after much searching and scouring, I found it! Yay! This is a great neutral eye palette from the drugstore and is so affordable – thank the lord. It’s Revlon so it doesn’t contain the most natural ingredients, but the number of shades and color pay-off you get from this set is surreal. If you need a neutral colored palette and are on a budget – this is a fantastic option. I mostly use the last four shades (as you can see), they’re very warm. I will say that the quality of this palette is noticeably less than Urban Decay’s shadows and that the shadows are a little powdery, but that being said – I still love and use this palette often. This palette does not contain parabens, but does contain carmine (just fyi).

Too Faced’s All I Want for Christmas Eyeshadows & Blush Compact

photo 4 (5)

photo 5 (5)

photo 1 (3)

Don’t hate me, but this came in a gift set. Good news is though, it wasn’t limited edition! So, you can still purchase it if your heart oh so desires. This little number is for my no-makeup makeup days. It’s so easy and simple. Just pop on some of the coppery brown over the lid, or on the crease (depending on how cheeky you’re feeling), blend it out/highlight with the lighter shade, and then slip on some blush and mascara and bam – out the door. I love that this compact comes with a mirror – it makes it very easy to travel with. The rest of the All I Want for Christmas Set is gorgeous and is only $39. It comes with this compact, a full-sized lipstick, a full-sized eye primer, a mini-mascara, and an eyeliner. I use and love all of the products (apart from the mascara, it was a bit freaky) and this set is definitely worth the money. If you’re new to makeup, or just want to try a large variety of Too Faced’s products without the hefty price tag, then this is definitely for you.

YSL’s Pure Chromatics Wet & Dry Eyeshadows in 19 ($55)

photo 2 (3)

photo (14)

First of all, the packaging of this product makes me drool. It’s drop dead gorgeous. I mean, gold and shiny? How is a girl to resist? Besides the aesthetics, this palette is top notch. The shades are beautiful, the staying power is impressive, and the shimmer of these shadows is so subtle and alluring I cannot even put it into words. Sephora describes these shades quite accurately as (from left to right, top to bottom) rosy pink, whitish pink, nude cashmere, and chocolate brown. As you have probably notices, I am a sucker for neutral shades with tones of pink – if this is you as well, then you need to have this palette in your life. This has lasted me for a long while, I have had it for well over a year and a half now and, while it is well-loved, it’s still going strong and the shadows are as lovely as ever. Sans parabens – yeah!

The Liners

Too Faced’s Perfect Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner in Perfect Black ($18) 

photo 3 (4)

photo 4 (6)

This is the eyeliner I received in Too Faced’s All I Want For Christmas Set (but you can still buy it in Sephora!) and I absolutely adore it. It’s a pencil liner with a gel consistency – the formula is so nice and glides on the eyes beyond easily. The color is truly black and I wear this nearly everyday (sometimes I switch it up with the other liner blow, but this is on my eyes most of the time). It is waterproof, but is smudge-able a few minutes after application – so, once this is on and set, it’s not going anywhere. This product is also formulated sans parabens or fragrance. If you are looking for a gel liner, but don’t want to deal with a pot and carrying around a brush then you should absolutely give this a go.

Buxom’s Hold the Line Waterproof Eyeliner in Call Me ($17)

photo 2 (4)

photo 5 (6)

(Buxom on top, Too Faced on bottom)

Buxom is one of those brands that you see, but never hear anything about. In order to strike down the mysticality surrounding this brand, I decided to try their eyeliner. In consensus (based off of one product), I like Buxom. The eyeliner is very similar to Too Faced’s, but has a very slight green tone to it (it’s not AS black). Don’t let this scare you, it’s not noticeable on the eyes (it still looks very black), but I did notice the difference when swatching both eyeliners on my hand, side-by-side. Buxom’s liner is also formulated without parabens, sulfates, and phthlates. If you are new to eyeliner and cannot shell out the extra dollar for Too Faced’s liner, then this is a great choice. But in a battle between the two liners, I would name Too Faced’s Perfect Eyes as the winner.

Also, after applying either or these liners, I usually like to take a very small, wet eyeliner brush and just press some of the black shade from my Naked 2 palette (called blackout) along the line I just created. It helps to make my line more even and seamless, and it adds more definition to the blackness of the liner (TO MAKE THE BLACKEST EYELINER EVER – MUAHAHAHA.. Jk, but really though).

The Mascara

Benefit’s They’re Real! Mascara ($23)

photo (13)

This mascara is the bomb-dot-com (bomb.com). If you haven’t tried this, then you need to – and if you have tried it, then you know exactly what I mean when I say that this mascara is revolutionary. Okay, maybe not revolutionary, but it’s pretty damn awesome. The formula is wet, but not too wet, and then brush is structured just right – it’s not too thick where you are painting your eyelid unknowingly – so you can comb through those luscious lashes. I will tell you though that this mascara is a pain in the ass to remove. But fortunately, I have learned that jojoba oil works wonders to get rid of it. I like to use jojoba oil all over my face to remove my makeup, but if you just want to use it on your eyes – then work the oil between your fingers to warm it up, gently massage it onto your eyelids until the mascara is dissolved, wipe clean with a warm washcloth, and voila it will have vanished. I find that this mascara makes my lashes so long without flaking, smudging, or becoming clumpy and it increadibly black and pigmented – which makes it a winner for me (I even prefer it over YSL’s mascara *gasp).

I hope you have enjoyed reading! What are some of your favorite eye palettes? Mascaras? I’ve been looking to try Buxom’s mascara next because it’s paraben-free – so if you have tried that, let me know!

But for now..

Happy Reading, Gorgeous!

— Clair

17 thoughts on “It’s All In The Eyes

  1. Great choices, I can’t wait to try They’re Real Mascara heard so much about it. And one of my favorites it’s the Too Faced Chocolate Bar eye palette

    Like

  2. I use and love all of the Bare Essential’s line. Their makeup is amazing and my skin has never been healthier or looked better. I love a nutral eye color as well. So easy, and always elegant. Great post.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you found the post helpful! That’s what it’s all about to me (: Urban Decay just came out with mini versions of the NAKED pallets which are much more affordable than the full size – so definitely check that out! And yes, the Revlon is very nice – I highly recommend it – although I have seen some bloggers rave about some Maybelline eye palettes that look gorgeous too…

      Like

Leave a Reply

