The New Thing: Yarok Feed Your Do and Mermaid Hair Conditioner

I went the Urban Outfitters in Herald Square on Monday, as some of you may know if you follow us on twitter. I was so pleased to see that they had such a wide selection of beauty products. I was especially pleased to see some natural brands that I haven’t seen in stores before. I picked up two hair items to test out. IMG_1252

The first of the two is the Yarok Feed Your Do hair whip. I had seen that some YouTubers received this in one of the subscription boxes a few months back and had wanted to try it. I like to keep my hair shorter and I thought this “hair whip” might give it some sexy texturization. The tub says that it is free from gluten, alcohol, sulfates, parabens, and that it is cruelty-free. It was $18 and I have definitely paid more for hair styling products in my time, so i went for it.

 

It’s a thick white paste that smells of lemongrass. I absolutely love the smell. It really wakes you up, and even though I’ve only used it a few times, I keep reaching for the pot to take a whiff now and again. The packaging is good for travel. I thought it might be a dark tinted glass, but it is actually plastic and really lightweight, which I prefer.

 

 

IMG_1257

I applied a pea sized amount to my hair when I got out of the shower, rubbing it between my fingertips first, and I think that is an adequate amount, any more and my hair would have been a little sticky, I think. Then I let my hair dry naturally and it did a really good job of bringing out my natural curls and toning down any frizz.In the pictures (apologies in advance for the selfie) I have straightened my hair as I usually do. The hair whip gives my hair an edgy piece-y texture that I enjoy.

 

 

The second hair item I bought was the Mermaid Hair Conditioner. My first thought when I eyed this product was, “Ooh! I want hair like a mermaid!” Also, I’ve been on a hunt for a good conditioner lately with safe ingredients. I must say I was a bit put off by the fact that the packaging says “Mermaid Perfume” because of my fear of added fragrance, but after looking at the ingredients, there seemed to be no added fragrance/chemicals. When I looked up the company whilst in the store (which is always awko taco, am I right?) it has very little on the website other than the ingredients and the tags 100% natural and cruelty free. I decided not to buy the shampoo because the price tag is pretty steep for the conditioner alone ($35) but I was having a “treat yo’self” moment.

 

 

IMG_1266

The Mermaid Perfume website describes the fragrance as “orange blossom.” I find that it smells more creamy and like almond, but I can detect an orangey undertone. I’m not a huge fan of citrus scented products, so i definitely wouldn’t have purchased it if it had an offensive citrus smell. However, the smell does linger in my hair, which I don’t really like.

 

 

So far, I like the Yarok Hair Whip better than the Mermaid Hair Conditioner. I will continue to use both and we shall see if one makes it into my monthly favorites.

 

 

Have you ever tried either of these products? What did you think of them? Please comment down below and tell me some of you favorite hair products and recommendations. I’m on the hunt for a good, natural shampoo and conditioner and would love to hear your suggestions.

As always,

Happy Reading, Beautiful!

—Grace

7 thoughts on “The New Thing: Yarok Feed Your Do and Mermaid Hair Conditioner

Leave a Reply

