Ilia Lip Gloss Review

Hello lovelies! So, as I previewed on Instagram, I have a review on Ilia’s Lip Gloss in the shade “Peek A Boo.” I picked this up a few months back from ABC Carpet & Home in New York City when school was still in session. Before I start I should just say this product is one of my favorite makeup items. I usually despise lip glosses because they are so sticky and my hair gets caught in them, but this one is a stand out.

IMG_1173

The formula of this gloss is impressive. It’s so nourishing and feels more like a balm, and that gets a huge thumbs up in my book but has all the dimension of a gloss. The ingredients are, of course, top notch because it’s Ilia.

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil*, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter*, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil*, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Brassica Campestris, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Aleurites Fordi Oil Copolymer, Isostearyl Citrate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (orange) Fruit Oil, Jasminum Officinale (Jasmine) Oil, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Oil. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Red 7 (CI 15850), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Iron Oxide (CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491), Red 28 (CI 45410). *Certified Organic Ingredients. Ingrédients Certifiés Biologiques.

 

The packaging is chic and there’s not much to say in that regard, but the price tag definitely makes this a luxury product. I bought it in store for the price of $24. I do not regret buying it – it was a treat for getting an “A” on a research paper.

IMG_1216

The color is my favorite part of this lipgloss. It is a perfect nude shade, not necessarily for my lips, but just in general. Its a very light browny pink with the slightest hint of peach. It can be sheered out, which is what I prefer to do, or built up. I like to wear this with cat liner and oodles of mascara for a “Bridget Bardot” inspired look.

 

As for the smell, it’s not my favorite. I’ve gotten used to it but it smells a bit like cinnamon, but there’s something off about it. I guess I’d call the flavor “off-cinnamon” like “off-white,” but not (lol ignore that digression).

 

I hope you find this review helpful and if you have this lip gloss or another shade of the Ilia glosses, please tell me in the comments because I would really like to try more.

 

As always,

Happy Reading, Beautiful!

—Grace

2 thoughts on “Ilia Lip Gloss Review

  1. Ahhhh I went to ABC Carpet & Home when I went on holiday to New York and loved that place!! Such cool stuff I picked up RMS Un Cover-up & Isa’s Restoratives Blemish Treatment that was half price..bargain! This colour looks beautiful!

    Like

    • This color is gorgeous. Honestly, I didn’t know that ABC Home had sales. The lovely thing about that store is that Rose Marie Swift is always hanging around her line and I once met her and her sister. It is an awesome store. Glad you saw it when you visited.
      —Grace

      Like

Leave a Reply

