Beauty Haul – June 6th

photo (2)

Hello wonderfuls! I hope your month of June is up to a great start! Mine is certainly chugging along. I recently came home from college (with a small detour into England along the way) which was pretty hard on my beauty products to say the least. And what I mean by that is most of them exploded either in my makeup bag or in their plastic bag in my suitcase. So… NEW PRODUCTS! YAY! Which means… I’m going to share them with you now. DOUBLE-YAY! Lets get started… (preferably before I say yay again…)

REN Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask ($55)

Let me start by saying that I love me some REN. I have tried this product before and it is wonderful. It smells like apricots and oranges, it’s always effective (my skin looks so lovely and glowy after use), there are no harsh chemicals, and it’s packaging is hygienic, economic, and adorable. I like to use this instead of a gritty exfoliating products because – contrary to common belief – they really aren’t that good for your skin. The “exfoliating beads” can tear into your epidermis and not only make your break-outs worse, but they can also be the cause of new breakouts because they leave your skin at risk of becoming infected because of the tears. Yikes! And if used incorrectly, they can cause your capillaries in your face to rupture. So, I like to avoid that. Instead, I use very gentle acid exfoliants (in the form of masks and whatnot) in order to remove dead skin and reveal a beautiful, dewy complexion. It is a bit pricey, but this mask is my number one favorite (of the minute).

Ingredients: Polysorbate 60 (Source Rape Seed Oil), Glycerin (Source Coconut Oil), Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Water, Lecithin (Source Soybean), Lactic Acid (Source Wheat), Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Extract, Grape Seed Oil, Passiflora Quadrangularis Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Pineapple Fruit Extract, Grape Fruit Extract, Alcohol denat. (Source Grape), Cranberry Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum (Source Corn), Maltodextrin, Papaya Fruit Extract, Natural Fragrance, Orange Oil, Mandarin Orange Peel Oil, Tangerine Peel Oil, Grapefruit Seed Oil, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Phenoxyethanol (Source Aromatic Ether), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (Source Amino Acid), Seabuckthorn Berry Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E).

Nourish Organic Lavender Mint Body Lotion ($11.99)

I was very excited to try this product. I had heard a lot about this brand and how wonderful/truly natural their products are, and I’ve also had my mind set on trying their natural deodorant. So, I thought why not give their body lotion a whirl. But sadly, I’m underwhelmed by this product. The lotion has a watery consistency and does not go very far. I find myself going back to get more lotion out of the tube two-three (four) times just to moisturize my legs before bed. The smell is lovely though – the lavender isn’t overpowering and it has a really nice herbal (that’s the mint I suppose) undertone. All the ingredients are great (and I will list them below) except for the second ingredient on the list – alcohol denat. This is an irritating, drying alcohol that comes in at a 4 on the EWG’s Cosmetic Database, which isn’t a ten, but it also isn’t a zero. While one ingredient will not throw me off this wonderful brand that is USDA-Certified Organic, it is a bit of a put-off and a disappointment.

Ingredients: Organic aloe barbadensis leaf juice, organic SDA 38B (alcohol denat), organic butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), organic theobroma grandiflorum (cupuacu) butter, glycerin, organic oryza sativa (rice) bran oil, organic prunus amygdalus dulcus (sweet almond) oil, orgnaic oryza sativa (rice) bran extract, organic fragrance, xanthan gum, organic euterpe oleracea (acai) fruit oil, organic soy lecithin, organic lepidium meyenii (maca) root extract, organic symphytum officinale (comfrey) root extract, tocopherol (vitamin E).

Maybelline’s Color Tattoo by Eyestudio in 35 Tough as Taupe ($6.99)

I bought this product on accident really. I thought it would be more metallic and shimmery, but no. It is entirely matte and the shade doesn’t look the greatest against my eyes/or with my skin tone because it goes on (my eyelids) as a more grey-ish color. So, kind of dissapointing! BUT! As much as the color doesn’t work for me, this product has wonderful staying/blending power. Just be sure to blend within a few minutes of applying because once that sucker is on, it’s on.


photo (4)

photo (3)

 

photo (5)

 Maybelline’s Color Tattoo Metal by Eyestudio in 55 Inked in Pink ($6.99)

This shade I do love. It’s a shimmery, more-pinky-than-champagne color and it pairs wonderfully with both my skintone and my brown eyes. I like the creamy texture of this product, I only hope they don’t dry up quickly like the Benefit Cream Shadows seem to do. Excited to use this from day-to-day for awhile. I used it today for the first time (it’s been on for about six hours now), and it hasn’t creased at all which is incredible because (1) I didn’t use eyeshadow primer today and (2) eyeshadows ALWAYS crease in my crease (is that what is supposed to happen?) without primer. If you are looking for a cheap, gorgeous, workable cream eyeshadow – this is it!

Butter London’s Lady Bird Nail Lacquer ($15)

photo (6)

I used to think paying $15 for a nail polish was ridiculous, until I saw Butter London’s packaging. Is it just me or are these nail polishes the chicest thing since Audrey Hepburn? I mean seriously, they show up in their little black bottle and expect me to resist? Um, no. So here we are, with one of my favorite colors (tomato red) in the shade Lady Bird. It’s beautiful. The color, the formula (I’ve only been wearing it for two days and it hasn’t chipped yet), and, of course the gorgeous packaging sitting on my bathroom counter. The polish itself is lovely, you almost don’t need to apply a second coat the color payoff is so great – it leaves the prettiest shine as well without applying a top coat. These are expensive, but the Butter London Nail Lacquers are such a treat. I will definitely be buying again.

Revlon’s Multicare Base + Topcoat ($5.99)

I picked this little guy up because my bathroom drawers seem to have a habit of eating my topcoats far too frequently. When I saw this I thought base and topcoat, no! And the rest is history. It’s a pretty basic clear nail polish. One thing I didn’t like was that as I applied it over Ladybird, the brush picked up a bit of the color and changed the formula to be slightly pink-tinted. Oh well. That probably has to do more with my impatience than with the actual product.

Anyways…

That’s all from my haul! I hope you have enjoyed this post! Have you picked up anything recently? Any good body lotions you would recommend? Let me know, I love reading your comments!

Happy Reading, Gorgeous!

— Clair

8 thoughts on “Beauty Haul – June 6th

  1. I think I’ve tried just about all of Nourish’s body products and the lotion is the only one that’s left me underwhelmed. So, don’t let it put you off too much, everything else really is as good as the hype! The body butter and body wash are some of my favorites 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

