Grace’s Morning Skincare Routine

 IMG_1072

I should preface this post by saying that my skin is extremely acne prone. It freaks out at the sight of bacteria, the sun, hormones, pollution, and even other people. When I moved to NYC, it went completely berserk and nothing seemed to help that was stocked in Sephora. My skin despises salicylic acid, which made finding acne-clearing products difficult.
Over winter break, my mother turned me on to more natural product because she knew how much the problem was bothering me. After seeing how well natural and organic products work for me, I have never looked back.
Now into the routine, which hardly ever changes, unless I know something is really going to work and that my skin won’t react to the ingredients.

  1. Cleansing: At present and for as far as I can possibly see into the future, I am using Juice Beauty’s Blemish Clearing Cleanser, another recommendation from Cassie or Cloudy Apples on youtube (she’s the best, seriously). The cleanser is great for acne-prone skin. The ingredients sound a bit odd: lemon juice, grape juice, etc but, trust me, as soon as you realize how effective they are, the ingredients list will bring a smile to your clear face.
  2. Toning: The most dreaded step of my skincare routine for anyone within ten feet of me. I use diluted apple cider vinegar as a toner. It smells disgusting, but it’s just so good, another recommendation from the lovely Cassie. Anti-bacterial, balancing, refreshing, all the lovely words that come with a toner without the price tag. Between you and me, this is probably the cheapest part of my skincare routine, about $4.99 for a bottle that lasts me four months. The bottle that I have is Bragg’s brand so it has “the mother” at the bottom of the bottle because it’s organic. I’m not sure what “the mother” is but it’s still “the awesome.”
  3. Treating: This is the only part of my skincare that is not completely natural and organic. Because my skin has a bad addiction to benzoyl peroxide, I use La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo as an acne treatment. I have been using it for three years and my skin texture is never as smooth if I stop using it. I checked the EWG skin deep website, and the score is not terrible, so I have not discontinued my use of it.
  4. Moisturize? I don’t technically use a moisturizer, I use a blend of oils that Clair and I made earlier this year. I can’t remember exactly what in it but I know that it has a majority rose hip, jojoba, calendula, evening primrose, apricot seed, squalene, seabuckthorn seed, and carrot seed oils. It gives an unbeatable glow that isn’t greasy and it’s just incredible. To be honest, we had been in Bloomingdales and fallen in love with the Tata Harper Replenishing Nutrient Complex,, but that was too much of a budget buster for ingredients that we already had in our dorm room.

And that’s it, then, I just move on to makeup if I decide to wear makeup that day. Another post with my evening routine will be up soon. It would have been too lengthy to put everything in this one post.

Happy Reading, Beautiful!

—Grace

Leave a Reply

